my new friend

Have you ever wanted something so bad, just to find out that when you actually get it, it is not a exciting as you thought? That is so not me right now – I finally have a KitchenAidwhitekitchenaid1.jpg stand mixer and I *heart* it so much. It is even better than my anticipation!

Here is the story of my new KitchenAid: I have been saving my Air Miles to get one. I am about 1,000 points away from getting one but last night, things changed. My wonderful parents came to visit me at my home. My dad walked in carrying a huge box and handed it to me. I thought I was dreaming and kept saying “is this for real? Am I going to wake up?” My parents were laughing because I just didn’t understand what was happening to me.

Sound crazy or far-fetched? Trust me, my love for this appliance can transcend my rational. I have pictures of me at other people’s house holding and hugging their KitchenAid hoping for the day that I would have my own.

For those who care, I have the K5SS model in white with a 5L mixing bowl. Last night my sister and I broke it in by making pie/pastry crust. I think that I cried a little as I plugged it in, added the flour and turned her on. The pie sucked, but the crust was beautiful. OK, I think enough “professing my love” for an appliance for now. Why is this machine so great? It is a 1) a brand name thing that is attractive. 2) Consistent results and is a reliable/enduring machine. 3) it is heavy, metal and powerful (between 325-575 watts depending on model). 4) It’s ability for the attachments (hook, whip, paddle) to move around the stationary mixing bowl is quick and thorough covering the entirety of the bowl reducing mixing/whipping times substantially. 5) It is absolutely a beautiful machine to have displayed in your kitchen.

Don’t like KitchenAid stand mixers? Viking brand of stand mixers are as beautiful, powerful (up to 1000 watts) and deserve the spotlight as much as KitchenAid. I would gladly have a Viking OR a KitchenAid in my kitchen. So that is my story about stand mixers.  There are people who love KitchenAid and those who hate it.  How do you feel about it?  What are your love/hate stories? Do you have a story about falling in love (with an appliance) for the first time?

Happy mixing!


One response to “my new friend

Leave a comment